American Society of Agronomy Announces 2015 Award Recipient, Stephanie Verhoff

June 5, 2015
The American Society of Agronomy (ASA) announces the following 2015 award recipient to be formally presented at the ASA
Awards Ceremony on 2015-11-16 during the scientific society’s International Annual Meeting, Nov. 15-18, 2015, Minneapolis, MN. The annual awards are presented for outstanding contributions to agronomy through education, national and international service, and research.
Stephanie Verhoff, Ohio State University, Columbus Grove, OH – United Soybean Board Fellowship: Stephanie Verhoff is a graduate student at The Ohio State University in Columbus, OH. Stephanie received her B.S. in Agriculture from The Ohio State University in 2014. She is currently studying the genetic mechanisms of partial resistance to Phytophthora stem and root rot in soybean. She has completed industry internships with both AgReliant Genetics and
Monsanto Company. Her career goal is to become a commercial soybean breeder and develop improved varieties for soybean growers.
United Soybean Board Fellowship.
The United Soybean Board (USB) Fellowship promotes graduate education in the area of Plant Sciences, emphasizing
the development of improved soybean varieties, understanding soybean genetics, and developing improved ways to
grow and use soybeans. The intention of the fellowship is to attract the highest quality students whose careers will
continue to advance the science of soybean improvement. Funds for the fellowship are made available by gifts from the
United Soybean Board to the American Society of Agronomy. The fellowship provides a $25,000 annual stipend to the
student for up to four years provided that satisfactory progress occurs toward degree completion. The recipient also
receives a membership to the American Society of Agronomy and a subscription to the ACSESS Digital Library for the
duration of the fellowship.
For more information on the 2015 awards, including award descriptions, visit:
or contact Sara Uttech, Senior Manager-Governance & Membership, 608-268-4948, For
more information on the Societies' Annual Meetings, visit: